NEWS Update

July 2019

Greetings to All of our ESA Chapters and Members,      

    I want to remind everyone that the test score requirements are set in stone.  This means that you may NOT fudge the scores or allow students with lower scores to join.  Sponsors when admitting students, please adhere to the 90% benchmark on the IOWA, Stanford or Terra Nova 2 (CAT 6) 2nd Edition, the 88 on the new CLT, 1200 on the SAT or PSAT, 1170 on the PSAT 10, 1090 on the PSAT 8/9 for a ninth grader, 1020 on the PSAT 8/9 for an eighth grader, and 26 on the ACT.   Unfortunately, many wonderful students do not achieve these benchmark scores, but it is not ethical to make exceptions for students if we do not make them for all students.  Younger students must meet the same benchmark scores.

    We are now accepting an 88 on the Classic Learning Test (CLT) which is comparable to the 1200 on the new SAT and the 26 on the ACT test.  The CLT is now being accepted by many Christian Colleges and Universities, including Patrick Henry and Liberty University. We anticipate that many more colleges and universities will accept this new test. It is especially friendly towards homeschoolers as it is NOT Common Core linked.

   We are looking into accepting the Plan and Pre-ACT tests.

    Our Omega Chapter now has over 500 members.  We are excited to be able to offer ESA to those who live far away from local chapters. 

     Thanks to all of the chapter sponsors who have mailed in updated information about your chapters.  We appreciate this.

    We are pleased to announce that we now have now chartered over 300 chapters in 44 states. Welcome to our newest chapters:

Omicron Rho – Greenville, North Carolina

Pi Rho – Kershaw County, South Carolina

Sigma Rho – SHINE, St. Charles, Missouri

Tau Rho – Cave Creek, Arizona

Upsilon Rho – Clay-Platte Home Educators, Kansas City, Missouri

Alpha Sigma – Old Town Academy, Fredericksburg, Virginia

    Sharon Powell sent statements out in January.  If you did not receive yours by the end of January, shoot Sharon an e-mail at: and she will check on your bill.  We rely on your dues to help cover ESA expenses. 

Joanne Juren, National Executive Director

Comments are closed.